Public Holidays 2022

QLD Public holidays 2022

Public Holiday Day/Date

New Year's Day

Saturday, 1 January

New Year Holiday (additional public holiday)

Monday, 3 January

Australia Day

Wednesday, 26 January

Good Friday

Friday, 15 April

Easter Saturday

Saturday, 16 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 17 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 18 April

ANZAC Day   

Monday, 25 April

Labour Day

Monday, 2 May

Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane area)

Wednesday, 10 August

Queen’s Birthday

Monday, 3 October

Christmas Eve (6pm to midnight)

Saturday, 24 December

Christmas Day

Sunday, 25 December

Boxing Day

Monday, 26 December

Christmas Holiday (additional public holiday)

Monday, 27 December

School Holidays 2022

QLD School holidays 2022

Term 1 Start Finish
School Holidays

Saturday, 2 April 2022

Monday, 18 April 2022           

Term 2 Start Finish
School Holidays

Saturday, 25 June 2022

Sunday, 10 July 2022

Term 3 Start Finish
School Holidays

Saturday, 17 September 2022

Monday, 3 October 2022

Term 4 Start Finish
School Holidays

Saturday, 10 December 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

Leave Maximiser 2022

How to maximise your work leave

By strategically taking time off work you could enjoy longer periods of time off.

December/January - New Years, Australia Day
Date Take Leave? Public Holiday/Weekend
Saturday, 25 December    
Sunday, 26 December    
Monday, 27 December    
Tuesday, 28 December    
Wednesday, 29 December    
Thursday, 30 December    
Friday, 31 December    
Saturday, 1 January    
Sunday, 2 January    
Monday, 3 January    
Totals Days of Annual Leave: 3 Days off: 7
Total leave days: 10
Saturday, 22 January    
Sunday, 23 January    
Monday, 24 January    
Tuesday, 25 January    
Wednesday, 26 January    
Thursday, 27 January    
Friday, 28 January    
Saturday, 29 January    
Sunday, 30 January    
Totals Days of Annual leave: 4 Days off: 5
Total leave days: 9
Easter holidays
Date Take Leave? Public Holiday/Weekend
Friday, 15 April    
Saturday, 16 April    
Sunday, 17 April    
Monday, 18 April    
Tuesday, 19 April    
Wednesday, 20 April    
Thursday, 21 April    
Friday, 22 April    
Saturday, 23 April    
Sunday, 24 April    
Monday, 25 April    
Totals Days of annual leave: 4 Days off: 7
Total leave days: 11
August Ekka weekend
Date Take Leave? Public Holiday/Weekend
Saturday, 6 August    
Sunday, 7 August    
Monday, 8 August    
Tuesday, 9 August    
Wednesday, 10 August    

Thursday, 11 August

   

Friday, 12 August

   

Saturday, 13 August

   
Sunday, 14 August    
Totals Days of annual leave: 4 Days off: 5
Total leave days: 9
December - Christmas Day, Boxing Day
Date Take Leave? Public Holiday/Weekend
Saturday, 24 December    
Sunday, 25 December    
Monday, 26 December    
Tuesday, 27 December    
Wednesday, 28 December    
Thursday, 29 December    
Friday, 30 December    
Saturday, 31 December    
Sunday, 1 January    
Monday, 2 January    
Totals Days of annual leave: 3 Days off: 7
Total leave days: 10

QLD Public holidays in detail

Ekka Wednesday - Wednesday 11th August

The “Ekka Show”, is a common abbreviation for the Brisbane Exhibition, it is also referred to as the Royal Queensland Show. The holiday is held to celebrate the Queensland way of life, with emphasis given to the agricultural industries and workers.

The Ekka has been held in Brisbane since 1876 and is Queensland’s largest annual event, held across ten days. This year's Ekka Wednesday will be celebrated on August 10th.

Get a travel insurance quote online